Alaska Diary | Movers & Shakers from January 23, 2022


American Seafoods is proud to host Tim Fitzgerald as our first Chief Sustainability Officer.

Prior to joining American Seafoods, Fitzgerald worked for nearly two decades at the Environmental Defense Fund, a leading international conservation organization, where he led their work with investors, multilateral institutions and the seafood industry to improve the sustainability of the global fisheries and aquaculture industries. At EDF, he served on the boards of the California Fisheries Fund, Ecofish LLC and GulfWild, and was an advisor to Fair Trade USA, Seafood Watch and the Conservation Alliance for Seafood Solutions.

Adelaide Poulson, a senior at Sitka High School, and Braxton Zinc, a senior at Ketchikan High School, have been selected as delegates to represent Alaska at the 60th annual U.S. Senate Youth Program, which will be held virtually March 6-9. Leiah Kittams, Petersburg, and Tahlia Gerger, of Juneau, were chosen as alternates.

During the week of the program, student delegates will attend meetings and online briefings with senators, the president, a Supreme Court justice, heads of departmental agencies, and senior media officials. national, among others.

Adelaide Poulson, a senior at Sitka High School, is president of the National Honor Society. Additionally, she is student body secretary, vice president of the senior class, co-chair of Youth for Sustainable Futures and the cheer club, and co-captain of the women’s cross country team. Adelaide gives back by volunteering for non-profit organizations in Sitka, organizing litter clean-ups and serving as a community guardian. She hopes to major in human biology in a four-year college and then attend medical school.

Braxton Zinc, a senior at Ketchikan High School, serves as student body president. He is a dedicated leader for Ketchikan students and has been involved in school government since grade seven in a myriad of roles. He led his student council’s transition to virtual governance last year during COVID disruptions and hosted outdoor community events to boost student morale. Braxton is also the president of Ketchikan Youth Court and plans to continue in leadership positions after graduation.

In addition to the unique learning experience, each delegate will receive a $10,000 college scholarship from Hearst Foundations.

Alaska students interested in applying to the 2023 program should visit

Fidelity Title Agency of Alaska, LLC is pleased to announce the hiring of Barbara Clements as Sr. Title Officer.

Barbara was most recently employed at Alyeska Title Guaranty Agency as Chief Title Officer. She also served there as title manager and senior title officer.

With over 35 years in the title industry, Barbara is experienced in all aspects of statewide title examination for residential and commercial clients. She looks forward to the continued success of Fidelity Title Agency of Alaska, LLC.

Alaska Communications has hired Marc Ayers to serve as Vice President, Engineering, Planning and Construction. In his role, he will lead planning and construction strategy, engineering design and execution, and help define the network’s vision for the future of Alaska Communications. Ayers brings extensive telecommunications experience, having worked 20 years at GCI, most recently as Vice President, Architecture and Planning. Mark is a graduate of the University of Alaska and a Chartered Professional Engineer.

The University of Alaska Foundation named two new members to its board of trustees, added a new member to its investment committee, and elected a new slate of officers effective January 1.

Joining the UA Foundation Board are Anna Atchison and Jonathan Taylor. Gail Schubert joins the investment committee of the board of directors.

Atchison is the Regional Director of Kinross Alaska and an alumnus of the University of Alaska Fairbanks. She is an executive member of the Resource Development Council and the Council of Alaska Producers, a founding board member of the Golden Heart Community Foundation, and chair of the UAF Chancellor’s Advisory Council.

Jonathon Taylor is an account manager for Yuit Communications and an alumnus of the University of Alaska at Anchorage. He sits on the board of the Pulse Dance Company, Alaskans Together For Equality and the Anchorage Community Development Authority. He is a former president of the UAA student body and a board member of the UAA Alumni Association.

Gail Schubert, CEO of Bering Straits Native Corp., serves on the boards of the Federation of Alaska Natives, Alaska Native Justice Center, ANCSA Regional Association, North Commonwealth and the State of Alaska Renewable Energy Fund Advisory Committee. Chairman of the Board of Directors Laura Bruce on the 2022 officer list are vice president Meg Nordale, President of the GHEMM; Secretary Stephanie Madsen, Executive Director of the Association of Offshore Processors; and treasurer Julie Farley, Vice President of Finance and Administration of the Rasmuson Foundation.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the governance of the UA Foundation and is composed of 24 public volunteer members, two members of the University of Alaska Board of Regents, the President of the UA and the Chancellors of UAA, UAF and UAS.

Send your employee and volunteer announcements to [email protected] for inclusion in a future edition of Movers & Shakers.


About Author

Comments are closed.