Medical Volunteer Appreciation Luncheon scheduled for today


Volunteers in Medicine, a nonprofit organization whose primary mission is to understand and meet the health and wellness needs of uninsured and underinsured workers, will host its annual appreciation luncheon today.

The luncheon will take place from 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the Westmoreland Club in Wilkes-Barre and will feature a number of winners in 10 special categories. Several winners will receive “forever plaques” for their services.

Recipients include outstanding volunteers, students, supporters and community partners.

“The clinic is a unique solution to the health of our community. The VIM is not federally funded and operates solely with funds from donations, special events and grants,” said Kelly Ranieli, Executive Director of Volunteers in Medicine.

“The annual luncheon is a way for staff and board members to show their appreciation for the generosity and support of the community.

Volunteers in Medicine works with patients whose income is at or below 200% of the federal poverty guidelines and who do not have access to affordable health insurance by providing free comprehensive health services.

Today’s winners are:

Outstanding Clinic Support Volunteer

• Mary Boylan

• Loreen Gwion

Outstanding Volunteer Nurse

• Shaneve Morris-Watkis

Outstanding Volunteer Health Care Provider

• Gerri Misunas, MSPT

• Maya Lichtenstein, MD

Outstanding Dental Volunteer

• Austin Woods

• Natasha Kulha

• Lisa Donovan

Outstanding Specialty Supplier

• Pranav Vohra, DMD

Outstanding Community Partner

• Gina Markle, Geisinger

Outstanding Volunteer Dentist

• Mark Rongone, DDS

Outstanding Student

•Andrew Kim

• Stephanie Ednie

Outstanding Supplier/Business Partner

• Tamara Summa, Ivoclar Vivadent

Outstanding Foundation

• AllOne Charities

Outstanding Corporate Partners

• Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield

• Navigate

plates forever

• Richard Grossman, DDS — Dental Provider

• Maureen Snyder, RN. – Nurse

• Susan F. Sordoni, MD — Health Care Provider

• Mary Burns — Support Staff

• Leo Hartz, MD — Board Member

• Conrad Schintz — Member of the Board of Directors


About Author

Comments are closed.