UConn Professor Cato T. Laurencin delivers the Robert A. Pritzker Distinguished Lecture Award speech at the Biomedical Engineering Society

Dr. Cato T. Laurencin onstage delivering his BMES Distinguished Robert A. Pritzker Lecture at the Biomedical Engineering Society Annual Meeting in Texas on Oct. 15.

Dr. Cato T. Laurencin received the Biomedical Engineering Society’s highest honor, the BMES Robert A. Pritzker Distinguished Lecture Award, given for impactful research and leadership in the science and practice of biomedical engineering.

He was awarded at the BMES annual meeting on October 15 in Texas.

Laurencin is Van Dusen Professor Emeritus and University Professor at the University of Connecticut.

BMES is the professional society for students, faculty, researchers and industry professionals in biomedical engineering.

“It is such an honor to receive this award. As a founder of the field of regenerative engineering, my goals are to address the grand challenges of tissue regeneration and beyond,” says Laurencin.

“Great Pritzker Lecture by Cato Laurencin. Reminding the younger generation what the real definition of ‘Incredible’ is,” applauded Professor Nicholas A. Peppas of the University of Texas on Twitter.

Laurencin produced seminal and singular achievements in tissue regeneration, biomaterials science, nanotechnology, and regenerative engineering, a field he founded. His groundbreaking achievements have resulted in transformative advances in improving human life. His fundamental contributions to materials science and engineering include the introduction of nanomaterials technology into the field of biomaterials for regeneration.

Laurencin received singular honors in engineering, medicine, science and technology for his work. He is the first individual in history to receive both the National Academy of Engineering’s oldest/highest award (the Founder’s Simon Ramo Award) and one of the oldest/highest awards from the National Academy of Medicine (the Walsh McDermott Medal). The American Association for the Advancement of Science awarded Laurencin the Philip Hauge Abelson Prize awarded “for his outstanding contributions to the advancement of science in the United States”. He is also a recipient of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, America’s highest honor for technological achievement at ceremonies at the White House.

Additionally, in recognition of his groundbreaking achievements in regenerative engineering worldwide, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers established the Cato T. Laurencin Regenerative Engineering Founder’s Award.


About Author

Comments are closed.